

## City of Jonesboro

300 S. Church Street Jonesboro, AR 72401

## Legislation Text

File #: RES-08:220, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING AND APPOINTING MEMBERS TO AN AD HOC COMMITTEE REGARDING THE RENAMING OF A CITY STREET IN HONOR OF DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. WHEREAS, Resolution 2005:120 establishes guidelines for naming public parks, streets, and facilities; and

WHEREAS, these guidelines state the City Council may choose to make it selection after receiving written recommendations from any one of the city's advisory boards, or a specifically appointed ad hoc committee, based upon public input from individuals and organizations; and

WHEREAS, the Craighead County Martin Luther King Jr. Committee has requested the creation of the ad hoc Martin Luther King Jr. Street Renaming Committee to gather public input regarding the renaming of a city street in honor of the slain civil rights leader; and

WHEREAS, the following individuals are appointed to this committee: Brandon Walker, Curtis Wilson, Larry Taylor, Pamela Woodard, Cari White, Betty Shaw, Ray Scales, Chris Moore and Dr. Charles Coleman; and

WHEREAS, the term of their service shall be for one year from the time it is created or once the task is completed.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the City Council for the City of Jonesboro, Arkansas that:

Brandon Walker, Curtis Wilson, Larry Taylor, Pamela Woodard, Cari White, Betty Shaw, Ray Scales, Chris Moore and Dr. Charles Coleman are hereby appointed to the ad hoc Martin Luther King Jr. Street Renaming Committee.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of December, 2008.