

Municipal Center 300 S. Church Street Jonesboro, AR 72401

# Meeting Agenda Nominating and Rules Committee

Tuesday, March 21, 2023 4:15 PM Municipal Center

#### **SPECIAL CALLED MEETING**

- 1. Call To Order
- 2. Roll Call by City Clerk April Leggett
- 3. Approval of minutes

MIN-23:003 Minutes for the Nominating and Rules Committee meeting on January 3, 2023

Attachments: Minutes

4. New Business

RESOLUTIONS TO BE INTRODUCED

RES-23:061 RESOLUTION BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS

TO MAKE APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS AS RECOMMENDED BY MAYOR HAROLD COPENHAVER

**Sponsors:** Mayor's Office

- 5. Pending Items
- 6. Other Business
- 7. Public Comments
- 8. Adjournment



300 S. Church Street Jonesboro, AR 72401

### **Text File**

File Number: MIN-23:003

Agenda Date: Version: 1 Status: To Be Introduced

In Control: Nominating and Rules Committee File Type: Minutes

Minutes for the Nominating and Rules Committee meeting on January 3, 2023



Municipal Center 300 S. Church Street Jonesboro, AR 72401

# Meeting Minutes Nominating and Rules Committee

Tuesday, January 3, 2023 4:45 PM Municipal Center

#### **SPECIAL CALLED MEETING**

#### **ELECTION OF A CHAIR**

A motion was made by Ann Williams, seconded by Chris Moore, that Chris Gibson be nominated as Chair of the Nominating & Rules Committee. All voted aye.

#### 1. Call To Order

#### 2. Roll Call by City Clerk April Leggett

Present 6 - Chris Gibson;Ann Williams;Chris Moore;Charles Coleman;Brian Emison and Janice Porter

#### 3. Approval of minutes

MIN-22:080 Minutes for the Nominating & Rules Committee meeting on September 6, 2022

Attachments: Minutes

A motion was made by Mitch Johnson, seconded by Joe Hafner, that this matter be Passed. The motion PASSED with the following vote.

Aye: 4 - John Street; Mitch Johnson; LJ Bryant and Joe Hafner

Absent: 1 - Anthony Coleman

Abstain: 6 - Chris Gibson; Ann Williams; Chris Moore; Charles Coleman; Brian Emison

and Janice Porter

#### 4. New Business

#### Pending Items

#### 6. Other Business

Chairman Chris Gibson said, I would like for everyone to send me the committees you are currently serving on and what you would like to serve on in this coming year for organizational purposes. If you would get those to me by next Tuesday that way we can get everything rolled out.

Councilmember David McClain said, I know there has been discussion about changing times and things like that. Are you guys open to that discussion as well?

Councilmember Joe Hafner said, that is the committee decision. Councilmember McClain said, it's a rule. Councilmember Hafner said, I think upon further review it was by committee. It's a committee decision and when they want to do it. Chairman Chris Gibson said, that can be done by committee vote.

Councilmember John Street said, since we have Public Works meeting before the City Council meeting I would like to express my desire to continue to serve on Public Works. Councilmember Mitch Johnson said, myself as well. Councilmembers Ann Williams, Chris Moore and Dr. Charles Coleman said, yes as well. Chairman Chris Gibson said, dully noted.

Councilmember Chris Moore asked, do you think we should just pass a motion to keep the same committees unless somebody request a change.

Councilmember Chris Moore motioned, seconded by Councilmember John Street, to continue with our existing committee unless there's a change to be made. All voted aye.

City Attorney Carol Duncan said, I think it's important to note that you're not limited the number of committees you serve on so the new councilmembers can still serve on committees that appear to be full. You're not limited to a number so new ones should just express your interest in what you're interested in serving. You can serve on all of them if you want.

Chairman Chris Gibson said, and for the new members we've got Public Serves which is parks, anything to do with public serves, sidewalks, things along those nature. Public Safety, police and fire and E911. Then we have Public Works that has anything to do with streets, sanitation. Finance is the other one that we have. Any committee that you're interested in just please let us know.

#### 7. Public Comments

#### Adjournment

A motion was made by Chris Moore, seconded by Brian Emison, that this meeting be Adjourned. The motion PASSED with the following vote.

Aye: 5 - Ann Williams; Chris Moore; Charles Coleman; Brian Emison and Janice Porter

Absent: 1 - Anthony Coleman

Abstain: 5 - John Street; Mitch Johnson; LJ Bryant; Joe Hafner and David McClain



300 S. Church Street Jonesboro, AR 72401

#### **Text File**

File Number: RES-23:061

Agenda Date: Version: 1 Status: To Be Introduced

In Control: Nominating and Rules Committee File Type: Resolution

RESOLUTION BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS TO MAKE APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS AS RECOMMENDED BY MAYOR HAROLD COPENHAVER

WHEREAS, the following appointments / reappointments have been recommended by Mayor Harold Copenhaver

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL FOR THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS, that the following appointments / reappointments be confirmed:

#### ADVERTISING AND PROMOTIONS

Reappoint Tracey Owens to a 4-year term ending 2/28/2027

#### NORTHEAST ARKANSAS INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

Reappoint Steve Cox to a 3-year term ending 4/30/2026

#### KEEP JONESBORO BEAUTIFUL

Reappoint Pam Alexander, Judy Casteel, Nate Schimmel, Lisa Tedder and Richard Boss to 3-year terms ending 2/28/2026

Reappoint Beverly Parker, Chad Chadwick, Brittany Mortin, Andrew Nadzam, Mary Ellen Warner, Charles Coleman and Barbara Reng to 2-year terms ending 2/28/2025

Appoint Jon David Carmack, Barbara Nelson, Sandra Taylor, Doug Gilmore and Carlos Ramos to 2-year terms ending 2/28/2025

Appoint Mary Margaret Jackson, Laura McHenry and Melissa Dooley to 3-year terms ending 2/28/2026

#### CITY WATER AND LIGHT BOARD

Appoint Russ Hannah, Gary Harpole and Ashley Givens to a 3-year term ending 2/28/2026

#### JONESBORO URBAN FORESTRY COUNCIL

Reappoint John Golden to a 3-year term ending 4/7/2026

File Number: RES-23:061

#### STORMWATER MANAGEMENT BOARD

Reappoint Rick Wyatt to a 3-year term ending 4/30/2026

#### CDBG CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Reappointment of Harold Carter, Reginald Prunty, Loretta Brewer, Gabe Roberts and Christopher Moss to 3-year terms ending 3/21/2026

Appointment of Rusty Clark, Charleston Girley, Kathy Buchanon and Pedro Ramirez to 3-year terms ending 3/21/2026