SENT BY:

6-13-96 ; 4:08PM ;

U. S. CONF. MAYORS→

ENHANCED FAX;# 2/ 2



THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 TDD (202) 293-9445

June 13, 1996

TO:

The Mayor

FROM:

Michael Guido, Mayor of Dearborn

Chair, Subcommittee on Telecommunications

RE:

FCC "Open Video System" (OVS) Rule

Thank you for your response to my recent letter asking that you contact the FCC on the "Open Video System" rules. Your response was tremendous. While our efforts didn't produce the result we wanted, it is clear that the Commission now recognizes that mayors care about agency actions that intrude upon local government prerogatives.

The FCC released the final O♥S rule on June 3, 1996. (It was published in the <u>Federal Register</u> on June 5, 1996.) Unfortunately, the decision goes to great length to dismiss our arguments, refuses most of what we requested, and may greatly complicate our day to day right-of-way management and compensation arrangements. But for now, you need to know:

- An OVS will be similar to a cable television system without a cable or any other franchise;
- 2) "Any person" will be able to get authority from the FCC to eperate an OVS in your community;
- 3) The FCC caps and then reduces overtime compensation paid by **S** providers for use of local rights-of-way;
- The FCC totally confuses but retains authority to oversee how we manage rights-of-way;
- 5) The rules may wipe out cable operators' incentive to bargain in good faith for cable franchise renewals; and
- 6) The rules create a loophole that telephone and long distance companies may use to avoid negotiating compensation for their other uses of rights-of-way.

Please look for a package from the National Office next week that will provide an analysis of the FCC's decision, model letters for you to send to FCC's Commissioners, your Congressional representatives and your Governor and other related information. Mayors will also be reviewing this issue during the Cleveland Annual Meeting at the Transportation and Communications Committee meeting on Saturday, June 22.

NOGOLAN BICH
Mayor of Sentin
Vice Presidents:
REGIARD M. INATAY
Mayor of Citicage
Past Presidents:
JESSY ARRAMSON
Mayor of Louisville
VICTOR ASPE

VICTOR ASHE Mayor of Kunaville ROBERT M. ISAAC Segot of Colorado Soriuga JOSEVIN P., KURY, JR., Mayor of Charleston, SC Transcesser.

HIGTOR LITE AGRYFOX Mayur of Ran Juan CHARLES BOX Mayor of Rockdood DISTORE CORRADINI Mayor of Salt Lake City SHARES JAMES Mayor of Memority, MJ MICH JOHANNS Mayor of Districts

JAMES PREPAIN SASSON OF SIGNAL BIZARETTI D. RAHAA Mayor of Rocks Hill DAVID W. SMITH Mayor of Newark, CA GRING SPAIROW Mayor of Dekalb

Mayor of DeKalb
MICHAM. WHITE
Mayor of Cleveland
dylancy Bussels

FALE HILLMEN Chair Mayor of Port Wayne DENNIS ANCHINE Mayor of Denois RICHARD ARRINGTON Mayor of Bumingham

MARTIN CHAVEZ
MISTOR OF ABUQUERQUE
RUSEST COBLS
Abuque of Columbia, SC

MRING' COLUS Mayor of Date CAEDELL COOPER Mayor of Bast Orange JAMES GAENER Mayor of Hampstood SUSAN COLUNIC Mayor of San Discor

JAN LAVERTY JONES
MINTE OF LAV VORSE
JOHN MECARTHY
MINTE OF RIVERSE

PATRICE MEMANTIS
Mayor of Lynn
RITA MULLINS
Mayor of Palacine
MIYARA E OBJERNOORP
Mayor of Virginia Beach

DONALD PROSPUBLIC Mayor of Alexin SAUL RANGREE, 18. Wayor of Lacobo M. SHEAN SAVAGE Monte of Tules

MARY OF THEM
STIMON SAYLES BALTON
MAYOR Of Minnespolis
KUST SCHMOKE
Marus of Mittingre

Majour of Buildingses PASE SOCIAN, Majors of Madiation BRUCE TODD Majors of Austin

WHI JINGTON WEED
Mayor of Denver
MARTHA WOOD
Mayor of Winglest-Salesn

Businitive Director: J. THOMAS CUCHNAN