

Legislation Text

## File #: RES-19:095, Version: 1

RESOLUTION BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS TO CREATE A UNITY COALITION ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND APPOINT MEMBERS TO THE COMMITTEE WHEREAS, in consideration of proposed Resolution 19:072 the City Council of Jonesboro, Arkansas, authorized a Unity Coalition Advisory Committee to study the possible designation of a memorial highway or a suitable and acceptable alternative street named in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, civil rights pioneer; and

WHEREAS, the City Council would like for such committee to study and discuss opportunities for naming or designating a highway or street in Dr. King's honor and to make recommendations in time for the City Council's meeting on Sept. 17, 2019; and

WHEREAS, such recommendations could be helpful in the City Council's consideration of Resolution 19:072 or a similar measure; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Harold Perrin recommends the appointment of the following persons to serve on the Unity Coalition Advisory Committee: Emma Agnew, John A. Beineke, Judy Casteel, Dr. Charles Coleman, Sandra Combs, Jeffrey Gibson, Jeff Mead, Lisa Melton, Chris Moss, Adrian Rodgers, and Garry Tate; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Perrin also recommends that Dr. Coleman, a member of the City Council and cosponsor of Resolution 19:072, serve as chairman of the Unity Coalition Advisory Committee

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL FOR THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS, THAT:

SECTION 1: The Unity Coalition Advisory Committee is hereby created.

SECTION 2: That the recommended members of the Unity Coalition Advisory Committee are hereby confirmed, with Dr. Coleman as chairman.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 16th day of July, 2019.