

Legislation Text

File #: RES-18:034, Version: 2

RESOLUTION BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS TO ESTABLISH AND APPOINT A CITIZENS FAIR HOUSING ADVISORY BOARD TO BE FACILITATED BY THE GRANTS AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, the Jonesboro City Council approved RES-16:131 on October 4, 2016 to submit the City of Jonesboro plan to affirmatively further fair housing; and WHEREAS such plan includes the creation of a Citizens Fair Housing Board; and

WHEREAS, the City of Jonesboro Grants and Community Development Department has identified seven citizens who are connected on a daily basis to residents who are directly affected by decisions made as a result of fair housing laws; and

WHEREAS, the City of Jonesboro will establish a Citizens Fair Housing Advisory Board to be charged with (1) conducting educational and training opportunities throughout the City, (2) Advocating for fair housing at the local, state and federal levels where it sees fit (3) identifying issues of concern

WHEREAS, the Citizens Fair Housing Advisory Board will partner with the City of Jonesboro; The Arkansas Fair Housing Commission, and Legal Aid of Arkansas to identify issues of concern and to implement proper courses of action

WHEREAS, the members of the Citizens Fair Housing Advisory Board are as follows:

Jason Auer, Legal Aid of Arkansas; Yaoska "Angy" Abaunza, Community Planning; Mallory Hill, Community At Large; Corey Mills, Community at Large; Leandro Soldi, El Centro Hispano; Cathy Frans, Continuum of Care; Kimberly Stem, NEA Board of Realtors; and Darrel Cook, Northeast Arkansas Landlord Association.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL FOR THE CITY OF JONESBORO, ARKANSAS THAT:

Section I: That the recommended appointments as listed above are hereby confirmed to serve on the Citizens Fair Housing Advisory Board;

Section II: That the members of the board shall have terms of four (4) years, except that the initial members shall have staggered terms to be decided by drawing lots. Four (4) members shall have four (4) year terms, and four (4) members shall have two (2) year terms.

Section III: Vacancies shall be filled by the mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 20th day of March, 2018.